Mike Learey Trophy Winner: Ellie Denham

Ria Melvin Shield Winner: Maddison Griffin

Ria Melvin Shield

In 2022 we introduced the Ria Melvin Shield as the highest sporting award at Shenfield for a female student. This award is a fitting commemoration an outstanding athlete and young lady that excelled in PE and Sport during her time at Shenfield. Ria passed away in 2021 aged 26 after a 2 year battle with a brain tumour. Ria was an outstanding footballer and role model who committed to every sport possible for the school. She captained the first ever SHS girls football team to an Essex Cup title in 2009 as well as playing in 2 National Cup finals at basketball, being a talented swimmer and an Essex Cup winning cricketer. Above all Ria always seemed to have a smile on her face, she was a modest yet incredibly talented girl whose attitude to sport and life was so positive. The 2022 the Ria Melvin Shield winner was Ellie Denham, a young lady so much like Ria in her positive attitude as well as her passion and commitment to sport and especially football.

2022

The Mike Learey Trophy

The Mike Learey Trophy is named after a former PE teacher at Shenfield who passed away in 1998 having served the school for 10 years. He made a valuable contribution to the extra-curricular strength of Shenfield sport. The Mike Learey Trophy is presented to the outstanding sporting performer in the Shenfield 6th form. They are given the award for their commitment, attitude and performance in Shenfield sport over the previous 6 years.



Mike Learey Trophy Winners 1999-2020

1999: Kate Innocent 2000: James Macdonald 2001: Amy Godden 2002: James Tydeman 2003: Marco Crivari 2004: David Hammond 2005: Chris Whelpdale 2006: Laura Cutler 2007: Ryan Lugg 2008: James Salisbury 2009: Frank Austin & Sophie Roberts 2010: Matthew Salisbury
2011: Philip Coleman
2012: Henry Austin
2013: Ben Mathews
2014: Katie Pounder
2015: Evie Clarke & Rianna Smith
2016: Tarryn Allarakhia
2017: Tom Ballington
2018: Tim Mason
2019: Kingdom Dawson
2020: Erica Hobson & Deniz Soyer