Loading ...

Health and Social Care

Key Stage 4

Cambridge National Technical Award Level 1 / 2 in Health and Social Care

Exam Board: OCR

Equivalence: 1 GCSE

What will I learn?

The qualification gives you the opportunity to develop real world skills to prepare them for their future.  By learning about topics that cover care in health and social care settings and learning about the different life events, as well as giving them the opportunity to learn about creative and therapeutic activities of look into health promotion campaigns. This is covered within 3 units.

Year 10 Unit 1 – RO32 - Principles of care in health and social care settings.

You will learn about the different rights that people have within health and social care and what this means to people receiving person centred care and how why this is vital for them. You will also learn about different skill sets that health and social care workers require. This is an externally assessed unit. 1 Hour and 15 minute exam

Year 10 Unit 2 – RO33 - Supporting Individuals through life events

In the journey of life, you experience many life changing events.  Throughout this unit you will learn what they are and how they can impact on us and how this can affect the growth and development of a human.  This is an internally assessed, externally moderated unit.

Year 11 Unit 3 – RO34 – Creative and Therapeutic Activities

Creative and therapeutic activities cover what different types of activities can be used in order to help people that require it.  In this topic you will develop skills that will be essential if you wish to go on and work with adults or children. You will then to need to plan your own activity and deliver this. This is an internally assessed, externally moderated unit.

How will I be assessed?

You will be assessed through exams and assignments.

Unit 1 – RO32 is an exam which is 40% of your grade- externally moderated.

Unit 2 -  RO33 is an assignment which is 30% of your grade. 

Unit 3 – RO34 is an assignment and delivery of an activity and is worth 30% of your grade.

What do I need to know before I start the course?

There is no work experience requirement for this course.

What can I do after this course? What careers will this course be useful for?

This course can be used in the same way that GCSE’s can be used when applying to Sixth Form and Colleges as it is equivalent to one GCSE. It can also lead onto the BTEC National Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care, the BTEC Extended Certificate in Health and Social care and T-Levels in Health.

Careers it can lead to include;

Allied Health Professionals, Nurse, Occupational Therapist, Speech and Language Therapist, Social Worker and others.

Who can I talk to for more information?

Mrs Marks (Course leader) a.marks@shenfield.essex.sch.uk




BTEC Tech Award Level 1/2 Heath and Social Care

The Tech Award gives you the opportunity to develop sector-specific knowledge and skills in a practical learning environment. The main focus is on three areas:

  1. Human Lifespan Development - Controlled Assessment (2 Assignments)
  2. Health and Social Care Services and Values - Controlled Assessment (2 Assignments)
  3. Health and Well-being - External Assessment (Exam)

which cover:

  • Skills and processes, such as interpreting data to assess an individual’s health, and designing a plan to improve their health and wellbeing.
  • Attitudes, namely the care values that are vitally important in the sector, and the opportunity to practise applying them.
  • Knowledge that underpins the effective use of skills, processes and attitudes, including human growth and development, health and social care services, and factors affecting people’s health and wellbeing.
  • This course builds on and uses the knowledge and skills you learn in your GCSEs, such as English. This qualification requires you to apply your knowledge and skills practically in a vocational context.
Health and Social Care Year 9 only Curriculum Over

Key Stage 5

BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care

The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care aims to provide an introduction the sector. It is for students who are interested in learning about the health and social care sector as part of a balanced study programme. It is equivalent in size to one A Level.

The mandatory content of the qualification incorporates topics relevant across the health and social care sector:

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care

The BTEC National Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care is intended as an applied general qualification. It is for post-16 students who want to continue their education through applied learning and who aim to progress to higher education and ultimately to employment in the health and social care sector. The qualification is equivalent in size to three A Levels.

Students taking this qualification will study eight mandatory units:

Please click here for the curriculum and PREP Overview.

Syllabus: Edexcel